Welcome to Georges River Council

On 12 May 2016, the former Minister of Local Government, Paul Toole, announced the newly formed Georges River Council.

Georges River Council includes the following Wards:

  1. Blakehurst Ward

  2. Hurstville Ward

  3. Kogarah Bay Ward

  4. Mortdale Ward

  5. Peakhurst Ward

By working together, Georges River Council aims to deliver better services and infrastructure such as roads, parks, playgrounds and sporting facilities.

The change to local government means:

  • Local ratepayers will have their rates protected against future increases, meaning they will pay no more on their rates than they would have under their old Council for four years

  • Georges River Council will receive up to $15 million to invest in community projects such as facility upgrades

  • Georges River Council will receive up to $10 million to streamline administrative processes and create easier systems for customers.

On Saturday 9 September 2017, the first local government elections for all NSW merged Councils were held and the inaugral Georges River Council was elected. Councillor Kevin Greene was elected as Mayor by the new Council on 25 September 2017.

Your feedback allows us to measure our customer's satisfaction with our website content.

If you wish to raise a particular issue with us, we recommended you raise a Customer Service Request. This will ensure your matter is scheduled with the appropriate teams and will allow you to track the progress of the issue.


We monitor all feedback and endeavour to use your comments to improve our website. Please include your email address.


Did you find this content useful?

Thank you for your feedback.