skip to main content
2016 Short Stuff Film Festival Winners announced


Winners of the 2016 Short Stuff Film Festival have been announced during a screening of all participants’ movies at Event Cinemas, Hurstville, on Friday 11 November.

Over ten teams took part in the event this year, and all teams produced a fantastic array of short films, which were viewed by more than 100 people on the night.

This year’s festival saw two teams led by Darwin Schulze and Brendon Liu share the title for best film, while the People’s Choice Award was presented to Zack Lewin for the film Reptilians, Beware.

Georges River Council would like to congratulate all the winners of the categories for this year, and thank everyone who participated in this year’s festival.

Council would also like to thank AUGGIE award winning playwright Pat Cranney, Macedonian film maker Bebi Zekirovski, freelance editor Simon Greenfield and the Chief Executive of Shopfront Arts Co-op, Daniel Potter, for judging this year’s entries.

All of the entries to this year’s festival will be showcased along with behind the scenes photos and props at the Hurstville Museum & Gallery for Youth Week 2017.

An initiative of Georges River Council and supported by Shopfront Arts Co-op, Headspace Hurstville and Event Cinemas Hurstville, this event fosters and encourages the creative development of young people in our community.

This event is a real incubator for passion and creativity and can even lay the foundations for pursuing a professional career in the arts. This is something that Georges River Council is very pleased to play a role in.

The winners of the Festival were:
Best Film: One Mind – Darwin Schulze; and Be the Very Best – Brendon Liu
People’s Choice: Reptilians, Beware – Zack Lewin, Nicole Pingon, Sophie Ward and Thomas Proano
Best Actor: Brendon Liu for Be the Very Best; Thomas Proano for Reptilians, Beware; and Mathew Belanger for Selfless
Best Actress: Sophie Ward for Reptilians, Beware; Nicole Pingon for Reptilians, Beware; and Hannah Isaacs for One Mind
Best Script: Be the Very Best – Brendon Liu, Francis Fletcher, Savannah Montenegro, Allen Chen and William Jorgenson
Best Cinematography: One Mind – Darwin Schulze
Best Editing: One Mind – Darwin Schulze
Best Audio: Be the Very Best – Brendon Liu, Francis Fletcher, Savannah Montenegro, Allen Chen and William Jorgenson
Junior Encouragement: Amelia – Davina Oh, Vy Tsan and Isabella Laxamana; and Clones – Mitchell Lee and Rory Hume
Georges River Council Live Chat

Welcome to Georges River Council. How can we help?