Our proximity

The Georges River Local Government Area (LGA) is located in the southern suburbs of Sydney approximately 15 kms from the Sydney CBD.

Georges River borders the City of Canterbury Bankstown to the north and southwest, Bayside Council area in the east, and the Georges River and Sutherland Shire Council to the south.

The Georges River LGA is 8kms from Sydney Airport and Port Botany, close to the M5 Southwest Motorway, and just over one hour by road or rail to Wollongong and Port Kembla.

Our Assets

The Georges River LGA features:

  • 11 train stations within two main rail lines
  • Five libraries
  • 281 parks and reserves
  • 42 bushland areas
  • Two sports stadiums
  • Two public swimming pools

The following town centres are located in the Georges River area:
  • Allawah
  • Beverley Park
  • Beverly Hills
  • Blakehurst
  • Carlton
  • Carss Park
  • Connels Point
  • Hurstville
  • Hurstville Grove
  • Kingsgrove
  • Kogarah
  • Kogarah Bay
  • Kyle Bay
  • Lugarno
  • Mortdale
  • Narwee
  • Oatley
  • Peakhurst
  • Peakhurst Heights
  • Penshurst
  • Ramsgate
  • Riverwood
  • Sans Souci
  • South Hurstville


To find out more about investment opportunities, please contact Craig Edmondson, City Strategy and Innovation Unit on (02) 9330 6250 or email business@georgesriver.nsw.gov.au

Georges River: Connecting Our Community

We have been out meeting with members of our diverse community to create a short video that showcases what's special about the Georges River area. The video highlights Council's vision of fostering and developing a progressive, environmentally and culturally rich community enjoying a unique lifestyle, from a human perspective.

Watch the video to see for yourself!



We monitor all feedback and endeavour to use your comments to improve our website. Please include your email address.


Did you find this content useful?

Thank you for your feedback.