Council Elections

Saturday 9 September  2017

The NSW Electoral Commission will be holding elections for all merged NSW Councils on Saturday 9 September 2017.

As a result of these elections, 15 Councillors will be elected across the following five wards of the Georges River Council local government area - Blakehurst, Hurstville, Kogarah Bay, Mortdale and Peakhurst. Three Councillors will be elected per ward for a three-year term. The Mayor will be elected by Councillors for a period of two years.

To vote in the upcoming Georges River Council elections you will need to know what ward you are located in. You can also find out what ward you are located in by visiting the Vote NSW website.

The following information is presented to inform all electors and potential candidates standing for election to Council of their responsbilities and requirements.

Location of Polling Booths

Council will list the location of all pre-poll and polling booth locations upon confirmation by the NSW Electoral Commission.


Information for Residents
Candidate information

Provide feedback on our new website
Was this page helpful?:*
 Security code

9330 6400

24 hours, 7 days a week

Email us at: mail@georgesriver.nsw.gov.au
Language Assistance Service
Hurstville Service Centre
Corner MacMahon and Dora Streets, Hurstville
Open: 8.30am - 5.00pm, Monday to Friday

Kogarah Library and Service Centre
Kogarah Town Square, Belgrave Street
Open: 8.30am - 5.00pm, Monday to Friday
After-hours Customer Service available
at Hurstville Library
5.00pm - 9.00pm, Monday to Friday
9.30am - 4.00pm, Saturday and Sunday
© Copyright Georges River Council
© Copyright Georges River Council