Text size:

Georges River Art Awards

A new Georges River Art Awards Program is scheduled to be announced later this year and will be launched for the first time in 2017. This Awards Program has been developed on the foundations of the highly successful Kogarah Art Prize and St George Art Award, which are outlined below:

Kogarah Art Prize

The Kogarah Art Prize was established in 2012 and ran for five years. It was an annual national acquisitive prize for painting in any medium, with an open theme. In 2016 the prizes were valued at $14,000 and the Finalists’ Exhibition was held at Kogarah Library and Cultural Centre, judged by Dr Gene Sherman, Chair of the Sherman Contemporary Art Foundation, the 2016 Kogarah Art Prize consisted on 39 finalists drawn from 206 entries.

On 10 June 2016, the winners of the fifth Kogarah Art Prize were announced by Gail Connolly, Georges River Council’s General Manager. The winners were:

  • Kogarah Art Prize ($10,000): Vittoria Oriana Boundaries (acquired)
  • Place of Reeds Prize for a Local Artist ($3,000 plus solo exhibition in Kogarah in 2017): Sabrina Martins Loule Rodriguez mi hombre (acquired)
  • Commended ($500): Steve Salo Romany Latham, Actor, Back to Back Theatre
  • Commended ($500): Yvonne Ferguson Relics
  • Packing Room Prize (Sponsored by Novotel Brighton Beach): Bronwen Bassett Clovelly Sea
  • People’s Choice Prize (Sponsored by Visual Art at Arncliffe): Cathy Butler Winston
The exhibition was held from Tuesday, 7 June until Sunday, 3 July 2016. The Kogarah Art Prize Facebook page continues to gain attention and now stands at 615 likes. Previous winners of the Kogarah Art Prize are:
  • Craig Handley – Judge John McDonald, SMH (2015)
  • Anh Do – Judge Anne Loxley, MCA (2014)
  • Virginia Coventry – Judge Aida Tomescu (2013)
  • David van Nunen – Judge Barry Pearce, AGNSW (2012)

St George Art Awards

The St George Art Awards, launched in 2010, is a biennial art award presented at the Hurstville Library Museum and Gallery. It offers members of the local and wider community, including youth, seniors and multicultural communities, an opportunity to display their artistic talents and compete in a professional art award competition.

This year the theme of the St George Art Awards was ‘reflection’. The artworks were judged by Jeannette Siebols, Stella Downer and Owen Craven and prizes were awarded for 2D painting, 3D sculpture, St George Local Youth prizes and a People’s Choice Prize.

The St George Art Prize has been awarded to:

  • Robyn Kinsela, Vietnam Veterans’ Visible Silence – 2016
  • Hadieh Afshani, Motion of Light – 2014
  • Glenn Locklee, Nightcrawling - urban awakening – 2012
  • Simon Collins, Life Adjustment Disorder, Sunny Day – 2010